Let’s Talk: Catholic Blogging

I’ve wanted to make a post about this topic for years. This is the third religion blog that I have started. I also have a literature blog, but my faith is a large part of my life. It has certainly influenced my research interests. I shut down my last Catholic blog for personal reasons that I don’t want to get to here. Let’s just say that I outgrew my last blog. It no longer represented who I am.

Christian blogging is different than other types of blogging because the blogger presents him/herself as an “expert” in the faith. I hate that part of Catholic blogging. I don’t like how self-righteous, narrow-minded, and anti-ecumenical Catholic apologetics blogs tend to be. I can’t relate to the content. I come from a mixed family. I am not interested in heresy-hunting. I am not interested in being seen as an expert in the faith. I am not an expert. Blogs that teach the Catholic faith are certainly valuable, but nobody has all the answers.

I started Catholic blogging because I know there are other people who feel the same about the current climate of the Catholic blogosphere. I want to find blogs I can relate to. I want to find Catholics who are honest about the joys and struggles of being Catholic in the modern world. Finally (and most importantly), I want to find bloggers who don’t hate the contemporary world and/or the contemporary Church. I attend a modern parish with a modern liturgy. I love the Gather hymnal. I love the fact that there are female altar servers, and I have no problem with receiving communion in the hand. So much of the Catholic blogosphere is anti-Vatican II, but I am grateful for the Second Vatican Council. I was so excited when Pope John XXIII was canonized, and Yves Congar taught me that you can be Catholic and ecumenically-minded.

If you are reading my blog, perhaps you can relate to my struggle. I want people to know that the Catholic Church is a big tent. We are such a diverse church.

I want to be honest on this blog about what I’m thinking and what I’m reading. That’s why my blog is called Incarnational Writing. I don’t perform my Catholic faith as well as I would like, but I also know that my faith is more than a performance. It’s a relationship. It’s a relationship with Christ and a relationship with my neighbor.

I’ve always loved Augustine’s image of the pilgrim Church. A Catholic is continuously on a pilgrimage. A pilgrimage includes many joys but also many hardships; despite the stumbling blocks and moments of discouragement, the pilgrim continues on the journey because she believes that the end goal is worth every sacrifice. Along the way, the pilgrim meets many others who are also on the same journey. These others are a diverse bunch and may even come from enemy territories. But they are all reaching for the same goal. So, if the pilgrim is truly concerned about reaching her destiny, the pilgrim will take every help she can get. In the end, after an arduous journey filled with detours, misunderstandings, and excitement, the pilgrim discovers that he who was once “the other” has truly become a friend because the Grace of God has been with them both.

I am excited to learn about you, and I promise that I will never call you a heretic.

Leave a Reply

